Newcastle International Chamber Music Series

Fine Arts Quartet

Presented by Newcastle International Chamber Music Society

Sage Two

Mozart String Quartet in D, K575
Shostakovich String Quartet No 1 in C, Op49
Glazunov Waltz and Orientale from Novelettes, Op15
Verdi String Quartet in E minor

Despite inevitable changes of personnel this distinguished ensemble has been in the forefront of American musical life for nearly 70 years. Late Mozart is contrasted with early Shostakovich, originally sub-titled ‘Spring’, whilst Glazunov pays tribute to Schubert and provides a colourful pastiche full of Eastern promise. Finally the exuberant, heart-catching, dancing melodies which make the operas of Verdi so memorable.

Part of Newcastle International Chamber Music Series

Season 2012 – 13 The society is proud to be the oldest chamber music society in Britain – the first concert took place in 1880. For the latest news and additional information about the Society and the concert series visit:

More Season Events

blog comments powered by Disqus