The Classical Symphony

Hall One

Discounts are available when booking multiple concerts. Please call Ticket Office to book. Packages not available online.

Nicholas McGegan: Conductor
Antonio Meneses: Cello
Northern Sinfonia

Symphony No.15 in G

Cello Concerto in C
Symphony No.101 in D ‘The Clock’

Symphony No.2 in B flat

When an unsuspecting Joseph Haydn arrived in London in 1791, the music-obsessed capital went mad for him. In the heat of the moment, Haydn wrote a series of symphonies that repaid the adoration of his new English fans with music of intensity, drive, humour and majesty.

The audience enjoyed ‘The Clock’ so much they demanded its first two movements be immediately repeated. It’s preceded here by a glistening Haydn concerto and works by Mozart and the ‘London’ Bach.

Follow Northern Sinfonia on Twitter

Part of Classical Season 2012/13

Music Director Thomas Zehetmair is to conduct the symphonies of Brahms and Schumann with Northern Sinfonia, Orchestra of Sage Gateshead. Known for stylistic excellence, meticulous precision and intimate understanding Zehetmair and Northern Sinfonia’s interpretation of these greats will be...

More Season Events

blog comments powered by Disqus